King John’s House was ‘discovered’ in 1927 as part of a year of celebration of 90 years of being a centre for celebrating art and history in Romsey we are holding a series of lectures on history, horticulture and the arts. Each one will begin at 10.30am in the main hall of King John’s House.
Monday 3 July – The history of King John’s House – the latest information on this early Medieval building. With Frank Green.
Whether King John was good, bad or indifferent, the House’s association with this particular monarch’s name has had considerable publicity benefits for the property over some 90 years. The antiquarian work of WalterAndrew in the 1920s that led to this association is a fascinating story that involved the then owner, allowed other royal associations to be revealed and visits made.
Unravelling the history and archaeology of the building and site close to RomseyAbbey will be explored along with suggestions about the building’s original function as a property clearly owned at the dissolution in 1539 by the Abbey. Many new details were discovered during the repairs, when the adjacent gun shop was renovated and the garden was set out all allowed archaeological work to take place and accurate dating of the building along with many of its later uses.
About Frank Green:
Frank Green has been associated with King John’s House since 1980 and led and monitored much of the archaeological work and the conversion of the adjacent former gun shop. Since the creation of the New Forest National Park he has been the Park’s archaeologist and has recently been working with colleagues commemorating the 800th anniversary of the Charter of the Forest that came two years after King John had signed Magna Cartia, at a time when Romsey was described as being in the ‘Forest’.
In King John’s House.
Tickets £5 from Romsey TIC (01794 512987), on-line at www.romseyfestival.ticketsource.co.uk or on the door (if still available).Buy now!